Orson's Dead Beef

Go ahead and grab some deadbeef

Removing Hidden Deactivated Facebook Friends. June 22, 2012

Filed under: Random thoughts — ihotline @ 6:39 am

Do you ever notice on your Facebook that your friend count is higher than the number of faces in your friends list? If this fits your situation, you came to the right place. I will discuss how fix your friend count.

One thing you notice as a Facebook user having defriended +100 friends from those social games is that there is an inconsistency between the number of friends you have and the number of faces that appear in your friends list. As a security measure you want to get rid of those accounts because those people can be dormant rogue accounts that can steal information or post messages and images on your wall to damage your reputation.

Deactivated accounts cannot be blocked easily especially those created by people who reuse names with the same avatar. So by forcefully defriending by using this guide you will increase your privacy and security on your account.

Evidence you have hidden friends:
1. Inconsistency of the number of friends and faces shown in the Find Friends > Manage Friends List. If your using Facebook timeline just click on the friends mosaic that is left of Photos and Map.
2. Inconsistency of the number of friends and faces listed in friends lists edit friends feature.
3. Typing an individual between a-z, if you want faster result use vowel, reveals unfamiliar name. This also indicates that the account name is stored in the database. If you use firebug you will notice word inactive meaning deactivated account.

To remove those deactivated/rogue accounts simply try to use the search feature “Type a friend’s name” located in Find Friends > Manage Friends List or by clicking the Friends mosaic to the left of the Pictures and Map in Facebook timeline. You will just enter a single alphabet from a-z then find friends without a photo, which will have a high percentage that that person is deactivated.

Once you found the stranger click their name then you are presented a message:

Account Inactive
This account has been deactivated. Only you can see [insert name here] on your friends list. You have the option to unfriend [insert name here].

Then click “unfriend [insert name here].”

You will want to scan the entire alphabet and defriend those deactivated accounts.

Now you can rest safe that those strangers will not snoop on you while you are offline.

Advertisements
 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s